The Midwestern states (Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio, and Wisconsin) are often called the “Corn Belt.” Although corn is in fact frequently grown in the region, the Midwest offers a diversity of agricultural production beyond corn including soybean, alfalfa, cotton, and rice. In addition, the land is often used to raise livestock and poultry.